function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Blake TanonBlake Tanon 

Class: Set variables

Hello,

I'm a novice programmer at best - trying to teach myself.  I know how to set/declare variables in triggers, but I'm not sure how to go about it in a class.  I'm working on building VF emails and I would like the class to pull a field value from the record that is is generated from.

We have a object for Territories (Territory__c), we would like to send out activity reports to our group each night with all of the Tasks and Events completed for that territory.  The salesforce scheduled reports aren't scalable since we need one per territory and can only send one per hour.  I would like to pull the Territory Name field in as a veriable, then query tasks/events that match that - Activities have a field called Territory__c that will match the name.  Here is my class:

public class TerritoryActivity{

private final List<Task> t;
    private final List<Event> e;

public TerritoryActivity(){

t = [SELECT id, Territory__c, Assigned_Name__c, Firm_Name__c, Contact_Name__c, State__c,Description, Subject, Outcome__c, Type
             FROM Task
             WHERE Date_Completed__c = Yesterday AND Outcome__c = 'Success' AND Territory__c = 'New England'];

e = [SELECT id, Territory__c, Assigned_Name__c, Firm_Name__c, Contact_Name__c, State__c,Description, Subject, Outcome__c, Type
             FROM Event
             WHERE Date_Completed__c = Yesterday AND Outcome__c = 'Meeting Occurred' AND Territory__c = 'New England'];

}     

public List<Task> getCalls(){
        return t;
    }

public List<Event> getMeetings(){
        return e;
    }        
}

crop1645crop1645

Blake:

You'll get QueryExceptions on your Select SOQL if the where clause is not satisfied