function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BroncoBoyBroncoBoy 

Question Regarding Casting Within Batch Apex

I am new to apex programming and have been asked to look into an issue within a batch apex class created by an senior apex developer (s.a.d.). 

The setup:

My understanding of the execute method used with batch apex is that this method takes 2 things:

-A reference to the Database.BatchableContext object.
-A list of sObjects, such as List<sObject>, which is passed to the method for each batch of records

You can see both being passed into the s.a.d.'s code below:

The code:

global void execute(Database.BatchableContext BC, List<sObject> scope)
    {
        Set<String> branchZips = new Set<String>();
        Set<Id> branchPIds = new Set<Id>();

// First, we collect all the unique zips from the branches into a set.
        for (sObject s : scope) {   
            Account a = (Account)s;
            if (a.Branch_Office_Zip_Code__c != null && a.Branch_Office_Zip_Code__c.length() == 5) {
                branchZips.add(a.Branch_Office_Zip_Code__c);
                branchPIds.add(a.ParentId);
            }
        }

My question: