function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BTRBTR 

Cannot find contact in APEX to be used for email service. Returns Outofbounds.

Yes, I'm new to the Salesforce Developer community. But I'm no dummy when it comes to programming and I'm at the end of my rope here. I've been through this 20 different ways now, using various methods I found online and I just cannot get this thing to work.

What I'm trying to do is set up an Email Service that creates a case... aka Custom Email-To-Case.

I created a sandbox, so that I could write the apex code. My sandbox was empty so I created one account with a contact matching the email address I'm looking for.

There are very, very good reasons for doing this...  but the APEX Class absolutely will not look up my contact. Its agonizing.

I have an email, lets say it goes like this

APEX TEST

I am able to read in the test@test.com into a string variable and system.debug can write it out correctly.

So I'm looking to get the ID of the contact, and the AccountID of the contact.

By all accounts, I should be able to do this to access these variables:

Linking by email address in variable (this is what I really want)

List<Contact> contacts = [select id from Contact where email = :FinalEmail];

Linking by hard-coded email address

List<Contact> contacts = [select id from Contact where email = 'test@test.com'];

Linking to accountID directly

List<Contact> contacts = [select id, AccountId, from Contact where accountId = '001P000000aYGwf'];

I've tried the older method...

Contact [] contactArray3 = [Select Id, AccountId from Contact where Email =: ContactEmailFinal limit 1];

I've tried setting it to a string variable ....  and about 15 other things

But no matter what I do, Index of 0 is out of bounds, and I cannot use the lookups... It simply does not find the contact, ever.