function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Elliot32Elliot32 

Help With Apex Code

Hi All,

I am an administrator and have not much apex experience. Having a bit of an issue with my trigger. The purpose of the trigger is to count the number of Activity Records associated to a Lead and then drop it into a field called Activity_Count__c on the Lead. The code all works as intended, but I wanted to add another parameter. I would like to be able to only have that field contain the number of Activity Records that are 'Created By' a certain User (i.e. User ID = '12345'). How would I add that contraint into the Trigger, Class and Test Class? See below.

Thanks,

Elliot

Class:

public with sharing class LeadActivityCount {

public static Boolean didRun = false;

public static String ledsPrefix =  Lead.sObjectType.getDescribe().getKeyPrefix();

/*

* Takes a set of lead IDs, queries those leads, and updates the activity count if appropriate

*/

public static void updateLeadCounts(Set<ID> ledsIds) {

if (didRun == false) { //We only want this operation to run once per transaction.

didRun = true;

//Query all the leads, including the tasks child relationships

List<Lead> leds = [SELECT ID, activity_count__c, (SELECT ID FROM Tasks), (SELECT ID FROM Events) FROM Lead WHERE ID IN :ledsIds];

List<Lead> updateLeds = new List<Lead>();

for (Lead l : leds) {

Integer count = l.tasks.size() + l.events.size();

if (l.activity_count__c != count) {

l.activity_count__c = count;

updateLeds.add(l); //we're only doing updates to leads that have changed...no need to modify the others

}

}

//Update the appropriate leads

try {

update updateLeds;

} catch (Exception e) {

//This is controversial. Anything could happen when updating the opportunity..validation rule, security, etc. The key is we don't