function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
kotoponuskotoponus 

Apex Workbook - Custom Exception by extending to builti-n Exception class

I am wondering if someone more experienced can tell me if I am following the instruction correctly. 

I am only working on the Apex Workbook as I am rather new to the apex coding:

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/apex_workbook/Content/apex7_5.htm

I am trying out the point 1 which says:

>> Now that you�'ve seen how to create an exception class and how to construct your exception objects, let�'s create and >> run an example that demonstrates the usefulness of custom exceptions.

>>

>> 1. In the Developer Console, create a class named MerchandiseException and add the following to it:

>>

>> public class MerchandiseException extends Exception {}

>>

I read the step 1 as following:

In the Developer Console, I go to File -> New -> Apex Class and type "MerchandiseException" as a name for my new Apex Class in the New Apex Class window.  Then press OK button.

However, when I pressed OK, it gave me this error:

INVALID_FIELD_FOR_INSERT_UPDATE

MerchandiseException: Exception class must extend another Exception class

And it does not create the class.

Can someone give me a pointer as to where I went wrong? Something tells me that I am missing something here.

I am in developer instance of the SF.  Thanks!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
kotoponuskotoponus

Hurrah!  I have just saved it!

Slept on it over night, and, with a fresh start, I went to Stepup -> App Setup -> Develop -> Apex Classes -> New button (in the list view of the classes) to add:

public class MerchandiseException extends Exception {}