function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
hideawayguyhideawayguy 

Trigger on custom object to update lookup field from other custom object lookup field

hi folks this is my first attempt at writing a trigger - not going well! here's what i'm trying to do....

i have a custom object called Booking__c that has a lookup field called Commission_Agent__c. 

Booking__c is related via lookup to another custom object called Property__c.

Property__c has a lookup to a Contact record called Contact_Commission_Agent__c.

When a new Booking is created (not every time it's edited, just on creation - or directly after it's created i'm assuming), i need the trigger to lookup the Property__c record via the lookup Field Property__c on Booking__c - then update the Commission_Agent__c field with the id of the Contact_Commission_Agent__c field on the property object. 

here's what i have so far. 

trigger AssignCommAgent on Booking__c (after insert, before update)
{
//instantiate set to hold unique deployment record ids
Set<Id> bookingIds = new Set<Id>();
for(Booking__c s : Trigger.new)
{
bookingIds.add(s.Property__c);
}

//instantiate map to hold deployment record ids to their corresponding ownerids
Map<Id, Property__c> propertyCommAgentMap = new Map<Id, Property__c>([SELECT Id, Contact_Commission_Agent__c FROM Property__c WHERE Id IN: bookingIds]);

for (Booking__c s : Trigger.new)
{
if (s.Commission_Agent__c == null && propertyCommAgentMap.containsKey(s.Property__c))
{
s.Commission_Agent__c = propertyCommAgentMap.get(s.Property__c).Contact_Commission_Agent__c;
}
}
}

here's my error. 

Error:Apex trigger AssignCommAgent caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: AssignCommAgent: execution of BeforeUpdate caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object: Trigger.AssignCommAgent: line 17, column 1