function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kondal Rao learnerKondal Rao learner 

how to display the reocrds in tableformat

Hi Experts,

Im very new to salesforce so when i write the program in salesforce , so when i displaying the records in tabluar format but it showing some error "

Visualforce Error

System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObject
Class.mySecondController.getAccount: line 5, column 1 "

please check my code once ,

public class mySecondController {
  public Account getAccount() {
    return [select id, name,
            (select id, firstname, lastname
             from Contacts limit 5)
            from Account 
            where id =:System.currentPageReference().getParameters().get('id')];
  }
  public String getName() {
    return 'My Second Custom Controller';
  }
}

visual force page:

<apex:page controller="mySecondController" tabStyle="Account">
   <apex:pageBlock title="Hello {!$User.FirstName}!">
   You belong to the {!account.name} account.
   </apex:pageBlock>
   <apex:pageBlock title="Contacts">
   <apex:dataTable value="{!account.Contacts}" var="contact" cellPadding="4" border="1">
    <apex:column >
      {!contact.FirstName}
    </apex:column>
    <apex:column >
      {!contact.LastName}
    </apex:column>
   </apex:dataTable>
   </apex:pageBlock>
</apex:page>

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Peter_sfdcPeter_sfdc

Your problem is here: 

return [select id, name, (select id, firstname, lastname from Contacts limit 5) from Account where id = :System.currentPageReference().getParameters().get('id')];
}

While this is perfectly legal, it is a quite dangerous practice with Apex.