function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KasriftKasrift 

Apex trigger to update field picklist from another picklist

Hello,

I'm not a developer and really new to this.  I had a question and was wondering if someone had a solution or could point me in the right direction.  I have a picklist field on the Case object, that when a value is selected, I would like it to update another picklist field with a value.  The picklist values for the two custom fields are not related by name, but there are equal amounts of picklist values (i.e. field_1 has 32 picklist options & code_1 has 32 options).  I don't want to do a workflow for field updates since I would have to do all 32 options, plus the field needs to be cloned to be 5 similar fields.  This would require too many workflows.  Also, the field_1 picklist options are REALLY long sentences, which I want to update a corresponding field code_1 with the 4 digit code of the field_1 option.  I tried writing a formula field, but ran out of characters before I could list all of the picklist options (other than that, it worked fine).

Ideally, I would like to use Apex to make this work.  I have a basic code, but I'd rather not hard code the picklist values in in case they change.  This is what my basic structure looks like:

trigger FieldUpdate on Case (before insert, before update, after insert, after update){
// Loop through the incoming records
for (Case c : Trigger.new){
if(c.field_1__c == 'blah blah blah, really long sentence'
&& c.code_1__c == null){c.code_1__c = 'COD1';
}else if (c.AEM_Violation_1__c == 'Equally long descriptive sentence...”'
&& c.AEM__c == null){c.AEM__c = 'COD2';
}else if ....
}
}
}