function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
thangthang 

Issue on Apex callout with .NET web service that returns PDF file as binary

Hello guys,

I am a newbie in apex development. Can you please help if you have any solution as per my code below?

I have a .NET web page (ASPX page) that reading a pdf file in webserver and write to HttpResponse as binary as following. The ASPX page using a hash key as a query string parameter to authenticate the valid request. The following 

Dim FullPath As String = Server.MapPath(ModuleURL)
Dim content() As Byte = Utilities.ReadBinaryFromFile(FullPath)

Response.ClearHeaders()
Response.ClearContent()
Response.ContentType = "application/pdf"
Response.AddHeader("Content-Disposition", "inline; filename=" & Path.GetFileName(FullPath))
Response.BinaryWrite(content)
Response.End()

If I open that on Chrome/IE, the requested pdf file opens correctly.

I am trying to use Apex callout and capture the pdf file as a Blob and display the Blob content as pdf in a Visualforce page as following:

Visualforce page:

<apex:page sidebar="false" showHeader="false" controller="TestGenContentController" contentType="application/pdf">

<script>
                window.location.href = "data&colon;application/pdf;base64,{!ContentFile}";
          </script>

</apex:page>

Controller:

public class TestGenContentController {
Public String getContentFile(){
Http h = new Http();
HttpRequest req = new HttpRequest();
HttpResponse res = new HttpResponse();

req.setEndpoint(contentURL);
req.setMethod('GET');
req.setHeader('content-type', 'application/pdf');

//invoke Http request
res = h.send(req);
Blob retBlob = res.getBodyAsBlob();
String retContentFile = EncodingUtil.base64Encode(retBlob);

return retContentFile;

}

I alway get incorrect format of the pdf file when executing the visualforce page.