function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Chris CounteyChris Countey 

Calling the {!User} object in a selectList and problems with custom controllers

Hello all,

I'm very new at SalesForce and I have read through most of the documentation and developed the Mileage application from the workbook, but I'm still struggling with what should be a simple task.

Here is the scenario in a nutshell:
I am developing a custom application that a corporate team will use to provide feedback to new SalesForce users about how they are using the SalesForce platform.

Below is the VisualForce page the corporate team will see to submit new feedback. Obviously not finished, but this is the basic idea: select a SFDC user from the {!Users} object, enter the URL of the page in question, and create a message.

How does one pull in the data from the Users object and use it in the selectList? In a standard SalesForce form, related fields open a dialogue where you can either select or search for users. Is there any way to call that functionality from your VisualForce page?

Code:
<apex:page standardController="Feedback__c">

<h1>Provide Feedback</h1>

<apex:form >

<apex:pageBlock title="Enter New Feedback" mode="insert">
                       <apex:pageBlockButtons >
                       <apex:commandButton action="{!save}" value="Save"/>

</apex:pageBlockButtons>
                       <apex:pageBlockSection title="Feedback Details" columns="2">              
                       <apex:selectList value="{????}"/>   
                       <apex:inputField value="{!Feedback__c.URL__c}"/>
                       <apex:inputField value="{!Feedback__c.Details__c}"/>

</apex:pageBlockSection>
                </apex:pageBlock>
        </apex:form>