function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sryansryan 

Custom Controller Errors

Hello.

I'm trying to resolve a problem I'm having in VF with getting a custom controller to work.  I based my Apex code and VisualForce markup on an example that I got out of the VF Salesforce Pages Developer's Guide. I'm new to VF and Apex, so I'll do my best to explain.

Objective: Write a custom controller (Apex class, e.g. similarConferences) that returns a list of records for a custom object (e.g. Conference__c) selected by a variable field from the custom object (e.g. {!Conference__c.Type_of_Technology__c}).

Expected behavior: View the detail of a record on the Conference Tab and click a custom link associated with the custom object to open a new window (VF Page, e.g. similarConference) that renders a list of records for all Conference records that have the same type of technology (i.e. Type_of_Technology__c = current record).

Actual behavior: I get an error "Error: Unknown property 'similarConferences.Conference__c'" and two Quick Fixes 1) Create Apex property 'similarConferences.Conference__c' and 2) Create Apexmethod 'similarConferences.getConference__c' when I try testing my VF Page named "similarConference."

Custom Controller code:

public class similarConferences {
    public ApexPages.StandardSetController setCon {
        get {
            if(setCon == null) {
              setCon = new ApexPages.StandardSetController(Database.getQueryLocator([select
 Name, Conference_Date__c, Location__c From Conference__c Where Type_of_Technology__c  = '{!Conference__c.Type_of_Technology__c}']));
}
return setCon;
}
set;
}
public List<Conference__c> getConferences() {
return (List<Conference__c>) setCon.getRecords();
}
}

Apex Page markup:

<apex:page controller="similarConferences" sidebar="true">