function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sf11sf11 

Adding multiple records in a way similar to add campaign members features

Hi folks,

I am new to VF. I am trying to create a VF page very similar to add campaign members functionality where one can select multiple contacts and attach them to campaign in one step.

Here is my use case,

1- I have a custom object (myObject__c) and

2- I would like users to click a button on myObject page layout .

3- This button will show a list of account records based on a simple query, with a checkbox (similar to enhanced list)

4- User will select one or more displayed account records by clicking checkbox and will click done.

5- The selected account Ids will be saved in a custom object (RelatedAcct__c).

Can we create "add campaign members" like fucntionality using VF page ?

Thanks! 

jkucerajkucera

Hmm-to make a button that leverages the custom object related list, I believe you need a list controller which will get the checked people for use in the button.  I'm not sure you can access a custom object list controller where campaign member is the target as campaign members don't have a list controller (ie-list views). 

I know you can't create a button in the Campaign Member related list due to this problem, but you might be able to create a button to add to the custom object enhanced lists (easier than creating a whole new VF list).

btw-if the goal is to add accounts to campaigns, I just created an app that makes this easier by leveraging 1 primary contact (dummy contact) for each account, which can be used for segmentation.  Let me know and I can pass it along.

sf11sf11

Thanks John for the reply.