function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
du-scodouglasdu-scodouglas 

Controller Methods

Hi,

I am new to the salesforce platform, and I am creating a custom visualforce page to do some work on a datatable (it is a popup from a list button forone of my custom objects) right now I am just using the standard controller for that custom object, and I am displaying some data in a dataTable, and then I have some commandButton's. Now my question is, I want to have an action performed on this data when one of the buttons is clicked, but it's sort of complex, so I figured maybe I can write a custom method for this controller? Can salesforce do this?

Also, how do I make a cancel button simply close the page with no changes? is there a default Action for that?

Loving the platform so far, just wrapping my head around it.

Thanks, Scott

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Damien_Damien_

Now my question is, I want to have an action performed on this data when one of the buttons is clicked, but it's sort of complex, so I figured maybe I can write a custom method for this controller? Can salesforce do this?

Yes, Salesforce can definately do this.

<apex:commandButton action="{!cancel}" value="Cancel" />

This would give you the default action for the cancel button.

All Answers

Damien_Damien_

Now my question is, I want to have an action performed on this data when one of the buttons is clicked, but it's sort of complex, so I figured maybe I can write a custom method for this controller? Can salesforce do this?

Yes, Salesforce can definately do this.

<apex:commandButton action="{!cancel}" value="Cancel" />

This would give you the default action for the cancel button.

This was selected as the best answer