function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
etessetess 

Passing Variables Into Apex Methods

I am new to Apex and not quite sure the syntax for passing a variable into one of my methods from a Visualforce page. I have an apex:repeat loop on my VF page that I'd like to perform a call to one of my apex methods within.

The VF page loop looks like this:

<apex:repeat value="{!ListCategories}" var="this">
   {!this.name} - SUBTOTAL HERE <br/>
</apex:repeat>

The method looks like this:

Public Decimal calcSubtotal(String Category) {
     Decimal count = 0;

for (QuoteLineItem a : [select category__c, UnitPrice from QuoteLineItem where category__c = :Category AND Quote.Opportunity.Id = :qte.Opportunity.Id]) {       
          count += a.UnitPrice;
     }

return count;
}

What I want to do is replace where it says "SUBTOTAL HERE" on my VF page with the subtotal for that particular category. What I can't seem to figure out is how do I pass the "this.name" variable from my VF loop into my calcSubtotal method? The Standard controller is Quote and this method is a controller extension.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
SteveBowerSteveBower

Where is ":qte" being defined?  (Assuming it's defined elsewhere in the controller...)

Also, if cx is a List, then you need to "add()" to it, not just say cx.category =...

So, to clean it up...

public class catSubtotal {
        public String category {get; set;}
        public Decimal subtotal {get; set;}

catSubtotal(AggregateResult ar) {
           this.category = ar.get('category__c');
           this.subtotal = ar.get('expr0');
        }
    }

Public List<catSubtotal> getAllSubtotals() {

List<catSubtotal> cx = new List<catSubtotal>();