function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Michael3.BrownMichael3.Brown 

Can't figure out how to display a simple SUM function on my VF Page

Hello, I need to display the SUM of Cash collected for a certain employee, but I'm having trouble figuring out how.  Since I'm using the sum function, I plan on only having 1 field come back in my SQL Statement.

The SQL Statement I have is: Select Sum(CashCollection) From Sales Where employeeid='220066'

I created a very simple Apex class for this. Everything compiled without error, so I'm assuming it's correct, but I am still new to SalesForce SQL

public class CashCollection
{
    SObject sumCash;     

public SObject getSumCash()  
    {
    sumCash = [SELECT SUM(CashCollection) sum FROM Sales__c WHERE employeeid__c = '220066'];
    return sumCash;
   }
}

My Visual Force page is where I'm struggling on how to pull my sum value.  Here's the code I have, but I'm getting an unrecognizable property error: "CashCollection.sumCash not recognizable"

<apex:page controller="CashCollection">
    <apex:dataTable value="{!sumCash}" var="temp">  
        <apex:column >
            <apex:outputText value="${!temp.sumCash.sum}"/>
        </apex:column>
    </apex:dataTable>
</apex:page>

If anyone could help provide insight into this, it would be great.

Thanks!

Mike

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

This line:

Is the culprit I'd say.  'temp' is the returned value from the getSumCash method, and it doesn't have a property called sumCash.  However, simply changing it to:

<apex:outputText value="${!temp.sum}"/>

probably won't work either, as it is a generic sobject, and they don't have a property named sum either.

You should be able to use dynamic visualforce bindings for this:

<apex:outputText value="${!temp['sum']}"/>

All Answers