function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
flewellsflewells 

Using visualforce page/tab to replace custom object tab...but slow to load

Hi there, I have a custom object for which I want to display a tab, but I do not want to show its standard New button. As I'm not aware of any ability to hide the standard New button on a custom object home tab, my solution is to create a Visualforce page/tab that takes the user directly to the object's list views (have also modified the List View settings within Search Layout options to hide buttons from list views) and show this to my users this instead of the custom object tab.

My solution is functional, but when I click on the Visualforce tab, it is much slower to load than any other standard/custom object tab. I'm an experienced Administrator with limited knowledge of Visualforce -- is there a different way to approach solving my requirement (hide standard New button)? Are there tweaks that I could make to my Visualforce page to make this work better?

The Visualforce page I created is very simple (CO is name of custom object):

<apex:page id="CO__c" >
    <apex:enhancedList type="CO__c" height="500" rowsPerPage="25" id="COList"/>
</apex:page>

Any advice on how to approach this differently? Can you think of changes to my Visualforce page that could improve page load time?

Thanks in advance,

Kristin

P.S. I have also tried overriding the custom object tab with my Visualforce page (instead of creating a Visualforce tab). That worked except in Internet Explorer -- if using Internet Explorer, the user was directed to the login page after clicking on the overridden custom object tab. Not good!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard