function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
lescclarkcpdlescclarkcpd 

CSS, XHTML & Changing Doc Type

Hi

I have a site that has been developed using xhtml & css, when I create VF pages I lose a lot of the formatting.  I'm an HTML / CSS beginner but understand that I may need to specify the doctype in the VF page.  My standard html page reads:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en">
<head>

When I try to replicate this in SF ie:

<apex:page showHeader="false" contentType="application/xhtml+xml">

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

I get:

Error

Error: A DOCTYPE is not allowed in content.

I have looked at other threads relating to this but there doesn't seem to be a definitive answer.  I have tried  using apex:outputText but get issues with speechmarks etc -

Can anyone help me out with the code ?

Can I use xhtml in a vf page ??

sfdcfoxsfdcfox

A doctype goes before apex:page. However, it seems that doctype is completely ignored in the current release. I'm not sure there is any way to force a DOCTYPE other than salesforce.com's default DOCTYPE to appear:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

The source would look like this:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<apex:page>
</apex:page>

lescclarkcpdlescclarkcpd

Thanks for the info.  If only the Salesforce DOCTYPE appears what implications does this have from an HTML / CSS perspective ?  How important is DOCTYPE ie what limitations does this have from an html / css design perspective ?  Am I worrying about nothing ??

thanks

les

sfdcfoxsfdcfox