function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DaveHDaveH 

Odd redirect behavior on a force.com site

Hey all,

I am very familiar wth Visualforce but this is my first time developing a Force.com site and an external page. I have a page that displays information about a custom object (Subscription__c). The details of the object aren't important. Now, the start page for a user to change their preferences is actually a redirect page. It checks for an id specified in the URL parameters and if it is supplied and valid the user is redirected to a second page. When I tested the page internally (with the URL /apex/MyPageName) everything works fine, the CSS looks good, the fields are all filled out with the data from the object ... etc. However, when I try to access the page externally using the domain name I lose all the CSS styling, the static resources (like any images) and also the fields do not get populated because I think the constructor for my VF page controller is getting called a second time when redirecting to the 2nd page (I am not using setRedirect(true) so that should not happen). I have a feeling there is something different going on under the hood when using Force.com versus internal VF pages but I can't figure it out. Anyone familiar with Force.com pages and have any ideas? I posted some code in the posts below.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
DaveHDaveH

Nevermind guys I found an old post that solved the issue. My custom object's status was "In Development" instead of "Deployed". Another example of lack of Documentation on SF's side. Glad we have good people watching the forums.

All Answers

DaveHDaveH

The controller:

public class PortalChangePreferencesController {

public Subscription__c subscription { get; set; }
    private boolean redirect = true;