function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CreatobugCreatobug 

Is this race condition? whats the solution?

I have just started writing apex controller and I'm quite new to it.....and I'm not sure what is happening here....I wanted the output of the VF page to be 1 2 3 4 but instad it is 1 1 1 1.  Is there a work around for this?......I need the values within the <repeat>tag itself. 

<!-- The VF PAGE -->

<apex:page controller="increment" sidebar="false" showHeader="false" >
     <apex:repeat var="a" value="{!a}">
         {!i} <br/>
     </apex:repeat>
</apex:page>

/* The Controller ----Increment */

public class increment
{
    integer i=0;
    list<integer> a{get;set;}

public integer geti()
    {

i++;
        return i;
    }
    public list<integer> geta()
    {
        a = new list<integer>();
        a.add(10);
        a.add(10);
        a.add(10);
        a.add(10);
        return a;
    }
}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
hchhch

Use the Following Code:

Page:

<apex:page controller="increment" >
         {!a} <br/>

Class:

public class increment
{   
   list<integer> a;
    {
        a = new list<integer>();
        for(integer i=1;i<5;i++)
            a.add(i);      
        return a;
    }
}

All Answers

hchhch

Use the Following Code:

Page:

<apex:page controller="increment" >
         {!a} <br/>

Class:

public class increment
{   
   list<integer> a;
    {
        a = new list<integer>();
        for(integer i=1;i<5;i++)
            a.add(i);      
        return a;
    }
}

This was selected as the best answer
aballardaballard

For performance reasons, VF generally will not call the same getter multiple times while rendering a page; it caches the value returned the first time. So the value from the first geti vcall was used each time.