function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AndyPandyAndyPandy 

Render Custom Object as PDF (via VF Page)

Hi All,

I'm very new to VF Pages and coding in general - but am keen to learn, and have researched this query a lot, but as yet I haven't found an explanation I can understand and follow.

Basically, I have created a custom object (EDIT: called "Adverse Incident") and I am attempting to (end goal) have a button on the record page of the new object which will render that record as a pdf.

As I understand it, this must be done via a VF Page - and I am already stuck.  Reading around I have managed to create the following start (very early stages):

<apex:page renderAs="pdf" Controller="Adverse_Incident">
<apex:panelGrid columns="2" width="100%">
<apex:outputText value="{ !Account__r.Name }"> </apex:outputText>
<apex:outputText value="{ !Product_Code__c }"> </apex:outputText>
<apex:outputText value="{ !Batch_Number__c }"> </apex:outputText>
<apex:outputText value="{ !Surgeon__r.Name }"> </apex:outputText>
</apex:panelgrid>
</apex:page>

Doing this, Salesforce automatically created the following Class for me:

public with sharing class Adverse_Incident {
}

However, when I access the new page, it just displays the actual text "!Account__r.Name", "!Product_Code__c" etc... (not the content of the fields, as inputted by users).

Can someone point me in the right direction and explain where I'm going wrong please - so I can start to better understand how it works - which should enable me to progress on the VF Page, and start to introduce proper formatting etc.

As much step-by-step information as possible would be greatly appreciated - and please let me know if you need more information from me.

Many thanks,

Andy

Ispita_NavatarIspita_Navatar

Hi,

Please remove the extra space from merge fields.