function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
skiptomylou11skiptomylou11 

Trigger a VF page to popup based on picklist selection

Hi there,

On opportunities I want to use a picklist field ('Stage') to trigger opening a VF page if a certain value in selected (i.e. Project Lost).

I have already created the VF page (which includes some addtional input fields like who is the winning competitor) but my issue is how can I trigger the VF page to appear / pop-up once 'Project Lost' is selected in the 'stage' field.

I assume I'd have to use Java for this but I have no / not much experience with it.

Does anyone has some sample code or can point me in the right direction?

Help is highly appreciated...

Many thanks!!! 

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Navatar_DbSupNavatar_DbSup

Hi,

We cannot perform any JavaScript event like onlick, onchange on the standard object page .You can insert a page in VF page section and by using the JavaScript AJAX check the value of pick list if the pick list value will be according to your condition then open the new page .

For Example

I have tried the Example on the Account object
Create a Vf page with following code

<apex:page standardController="account" >
<script src="/soap/ajax/22.0/connection.js"></script>
<script src="/soap/ajax/22.0/apex.js"></script>
<script>
var arrId = '{!$CurrentPage.parameters.id}';
var queryresult = sforce.connection.query("Select Rating from account where id='"+arrId+"'");
var records = queryresult.getArray("records");

if(records[0].Active__c=='Warm')
{
window.open('/apex/searchcontact');
}

</script>

</apex:page>

Add above Page on Account page layout

Replace searchcontact with your page name which you want to open in window.open('/apex/searchcontact');