function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AndyPandyAndyPandy 

VF Page Process for Custom Object

Hi All,

I'm a fairly confident Admin of my SFDC Org, with regards standard functionality, but completely new to coding, APEX and Visualforce (having made only a couple of very simple VF Pages, and no Custom Triggers).

However, I have recently put together a new Custom Object, which allows our users to create Deals (very much like the standard Opportunities object - but we needed a Custom version - don't ask...).

We need to tweak this slightly - so that it works a bit like this:

- User selects the "Deals" tab from within SFDC Org

- They press the standard "New" button, to create a new deal

- They then have to choose one of two Record Types ("Cameras" or "Other")

- If they choose Other - then it opens a standard Page Layout, with the Custom Fields created in relation to the Custom Object, which allows them to save a record using the standard "Save" button - all completely standard and generic, no problem.

- If they choose Cameras - then I need something a bit different to happen; firstly, I will still need a very similar standard Page Layout to the "Other" option as above, but with a few different fields, but instead of having the normal "Save" button at the bottom of the page, I want this page to be step 1 of 3, and there to be a button called "Next" at the bottom.

- Once they've hit "Next", it takes them to a booking form (another page layout), which allows the user to select from a range of DEMO equipment, which they wish to order. Once they've entered the details of the equipment they want, there is another "Next" button to get to step 3.  However, as this DEMO equipment is optional, I also want a button available which says "Skip This Step" - which takes them to Step 3 without completing a Booking Form.