function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
wedaftwedaft 

How to display all grandchild records in a single table in visualforce email template

So here's the background:

I have a master-detail hierarchy that goes: School Implementations-->Teacher Implementations-->Class Implementations. There is a lot of data that we store at the Class Implementation level (How many hours has the class used our program, what is the average class score on our program, etc) that we want to email out to a contact, specifically the school principal. I would like to create a visualforce email template that can capture all of the data from the class implementation records that are grandchildren of a school implementation and list them as rows in a single table, something like this:

Class Name

Hours online

Problem accuracy

Class A

78%

Class B

74%

Class C

70%

My main question, then, is if I have a school (Parent object) with 5 teachers(child object) and each teacher has 3 classes (grandchild object), how do I get all 15 of those classes displayed as rows on a single table in an email template?

Is this possible? If so, I would be very grateful for any direction that I can get. Thanks!

mast0rmast0r

I think it is possible. So you have a DB design like following:

School --< Teacher --< Class

List<Teacher__c> theWholeList = [
SELECT Id, Name, School__r.Name, (SELECT Id, Name, Hours__c, ProblemAccuracy__c FROM Class__r) FROM Teacher__c Where School__c = 'XXXXXXX' ];

Where the Class__r is a child relationship name of a Class object in Teacher object.

Then you can iterate through that list like this:

<apex:repeat value="{!theWholeList}" var="list">

Teacher: <apex:outputText value="{!list.Name}"/>

<apex:pageBlockTable value="{!list.Class__r}" var="classItem">
        <apex:column value="{!classItem.Name}"/>