function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
pacochin88pacochin88 

Need to access a Master object field from a Child controller in Visualpage

Hi,

I am new to SF development and I am trying to achieve below, hope someone can help.

Master object is "Product"

Child object is "Product_item"

I plan to create a VP page to generate pdf file, and create a custom button at the Product Item page, so that user can click a button to generate a pdf page to print.

Below is my code:

<apex:page renderAs="pdf" standardController="Product_Item__c">

//I want to display the Product.Product_name__c value here // 

// I dont know the syntax //

<apex:outputText value="{!Product_Item_Name__c}" styleClass="productName"/>

</apex:page>

Please help ! thks

SRKSRK

To solve your proble most ouick way is to use extenction

It means you have to write a apex class & use it in u page

public class YouNewApexClass

{

public Product_item ProductItemObj{get;set;}

public YouNewApexClass (ApexPages.StandardController stdController)

{

ProductItemObj = [select id,name,ProductLookUpfiledname__c,ProductLookUpfiledname__r.name from ProductItemObj where id =: ApexPages.currentPage().getParameters().get('id')];

}

}

<apex:page renderAs="pdf" standardController="Product_Item__c" extenction="YouNewApexClass">

<apex:outputText value="{!ProductItemObj.ProductLookUpfiledname__r.name}"/> / this will show the related product name on page

</apex:page>

pacochinpacochin

Hi SRK,

Thank you for your reply.. Beside writing Apex class, is there any other way to work around ?

How about in Product_item object create a custom formula field called "Product Name" and use some look up function to populate this field based on the Master - Child relationship ?