function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
raskrenraskren 

Login to another Salesforce instance via s-control

Is it possible to login to a different Salesforce organization (assuming the user/pass is known) via s-control and run queries against the remote data?

For example: I administer Salesforce instance A where my s-control runs.  I also want to get data from Salesforce instance B and C which contains data I need to report on.  Can the s-control running in instance A retrieve this data?

Thanks.
WhyserWhyser

You may have to get your s-control to open a separate page and have it login to Salesforce in that window as a separate instance.

I've never done it before, but I would use this perhaps as a starting point:

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/ajax/Content/sforce_api_ajax_connecting.htm

I think if you re-login to Salesforce into another instance with a new user/password, you probably will lose your current session, unless you plan on going back to it by passing the original user/password credentials to Salesforce again...

raskrenraskren
The s-control would query the remote system and write data back to the master instance.

I didn't think about the session management issue...

Thanks for the link.  I'm getting the feeling that this may involve too much hackery to be feasible and robust. 

If anyone has actually done this let me know!
sfdcfoxsfdcfox