function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MaxYMaxY 

How does Open CTI work? Just don't get it (

Hi all. I'm very new to the CTI theme so please excuse me if the question is stupid.

I'm trying to understand how a random telephony system becomes able to communicate with a browser directly. I just don't get it. SalesForce claims that no CTI adapters needed anymore. OK.

Suppose I have an asterisk (3com, panasonic, whatever...) telephony system. Here goes incoming call. What happens next? Can it really send a message to browser (via websockets or what) ?

I doubt that telephony systems can "talk" JS even if there is an active connection from browser to the telephony system somehow. So I guess that there still must be a CTI adapter (middleware), that can talk to telephony system with some TAPI AND can talk to browser with JS through websockets for instanse. And that middleware should be written by me. But the benefit of such an adapter that it doesn't need to be installed at any agent's computer but can be hosted at a server. Right?

I just don't get it how can it work without any middleware and I can't find any explanation on theinternet.

Thanks.

Jean-NoelJean-Noel

Hello,

To make it short, there is 2 type of CTI

- CTI plugin (3.x, 4.x) that work as a plugin, you need to have a program on your desktop that make the link between your phone and the browser. Depend on the versio of the CTI, you have a restricted list of browsers that are compatible (https://login.salesforce.com/help/doc/en/cti_toolkits_overview.htm). You need a little bit of C++ skill to create one of those from scratch.

- Open CTI, you have a server in the cloud that will talk to your phone and Salesforce, that's the one that is popular. http://blogs.salesforce.com/company/2012/08/open-cti-moving-cti-integrations-to-the-cloud.html

MaxY_MaxY_