function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LukeN57LukeN57 

The Limits of Force.com Builder - Project Management App

I'm a noob programmer so, this may seem like a dumb question. 

I'm trying to assess how I should build my app and if I should use the Force.com builder or another scripting technology to integrate into Force.com.  I'm building a project management app that will have multiple calculations and resource assignments. 

Is there a simple way to assess what the limits of the builder are?  Something like, if you want to build an app with (x) capabilities, then you can use Force.com builder, but if you want to build an app with (y) capabilities, then you should use a different technology.

Additional (though perhaps unnecessary) background:  I have resources who are comfortable scripting in PHP, AJAX, C#, and ASP.NET, and I'm trying to assess if I can just use the native Force.com builder or API, or if the app produced will be too cumbersome.  At the end of the day, users will be entering multiple tasks, assigning resources, and running calculations. 

Thanks for your help!

DTCFDTCF

I've built numerous project management applications on top of force.com. It's a great platform, but if you don't know what you are doing you can hit many different limits and roadblocks, especially if this is your first app.

For example, for one of the apps that I built it had the ability to assign different resources as you suggest, and then many different rates for different projects, with the ability to override different rates for different periods for different roles for different projects, with financial reporting "rolling up" to the top of the project.