function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BangoBango 

Testing REST API

Hello experts :) I created the following APEX Class in my Dev Org:

@RestResource(urlMapping='/createCase/*')
global with sharing class RESTCaseController 
{

@HttpPost  
global static Void createNewCase()
{
Case c = new Case();
c.OwnerId = '005i0000001uqEm';
c.AccountId = '001i000000RsOOS';
c.Subject = 'SOAP Test';
c.Status = 'New';
insert c;
return;
}

}

So the endpoint URL is https://na15.salesforce.com/services/apexrest/FieldCase

There will be a a third party application that will send SOAP messages to that end point.

I would like to test it and see if it'll create a case for me :) Any help is much apreciated (By the way, I'm new to this so bare with me :) )

sfdcfoxsfdcfox
Don't confuse SOAP and REST. If you're sending SOAP messages, you need the "webservice" keyword in order to enable it as a SOAP target. You can choose to access this class via REST, using any common tool such as the Developer Workbench (workbench.developerforce.com), curl, or most any other REST-capable tool.
BangoBango
Thank you for the reply. Could you please clarify what I need to do to enable it as a SOAP target? I'm new to this, thanks again.
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
global with sharing class SOAPCaseController {
    webservice static void createNewCase() {
        // Code here
    }
}

Once saved you can click on the class list and generate a WSDL for the class.

BangoBango

Thank you :) I just did that and generated the WSDL, now what should I do? :)

Is it that I povide the WSDL to the SOAP msg sender or do I provide a URL like before with the REST API?

Sorry for bothering you, I'm new at this and trying to learn, thanks in advance :)

sfdcfoxsfdcfox