function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
beener3beener3 

Question to Reid Carlberg

Hi,

Is it possible to addresss a question to Reid Carlberg ? I want to write to him as an "App Evangelist". I am an SF administrator / Developer, and I'm looking for a solution to allow a mass / batch production of VisualForce page to be PDF'd and downloaded / Sent by email.

The idea is that if each page represents a document (Invoice / Timesheet / Etc.),  sitting around generating say 200 of these, takes a long time. Printing each seperately, also takes a long time.

I'm looking for any app / idea that someone out there may have.

Thanks.

Ben 

ReidCReidC

Hi Ben,

Thanks for the note and nice to connect with you.  Re: your question, I don't know of an existing app that does exactly what you describe but there are a couple that create PDF's from VisualForce pages that you could probably use as a way to start.

One is Simple Quote 1.0 -- it creates a PDF and can send via Email -- and another is Sales Quotes with Line Items -- it creates a PDF and attaches it to an object.  Neither of these are likely to work for you out of the box, but both are likely to give you pointers on how to implement the solution you need.

Side note -- I was at Cloud Force Chicago yesterday and ran into someone from the ecosystem I've know for a few years -- and he described how he used Force.com Labs apps in a similar way to create a robust project management solution for a client.  Rather than start from scratch, he pulled bits and pieces from two or three apps and linked them together.  It was quick and worked for him.