function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BharathiBharathi 

Help Needed In creating an S-Control To populate values in Case Object based on values in Contact

Hi,

I am new to salesforce and pretty new to s-control.I want to populate some custom fields based on the values that are present in the Contacts.The code that I have written is as below:

<html>
<head>
<title></title>
<script>
var newurl="{!URLFOR($Action.Case.NewCase,null,
                                         [ eid= Contact.Id,
                                          cas15= Contact.Description,
                                           cas4= Account.Name,
                                           cas3= Contact.Name, 
                                          00N700000022TqG=Contact.User_Name__c,
                                           retURL=$Request.retURL ],true)}";
                                           window.parent.location.replace(newurl);
</script>
</head>

I am getting an error on the line after cas3 since that is the id of the custom field.Could somebody help me out on this and tell me how to solve the problem.Or is there any other way this can be accomplished.

Thanks,

Bharathi

gmc74gmc74
cas3 isn't a custom field, it is a relationship to a contact.

I would use cas3_lkid = Contact.Id, that should resolve your issue.

I don't use S-Controls for fields like this, I usually just use a custom URL, so I am not 100% sure of the script you have. 

If you use cas3 = Contact.Name there could be multiple correct references, i.e. if there are two Bob Smiths in the database, it won't know which one to attach.
BharathiBharathi
Hi,