function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Again AgainAgain Again 

To choose APEX or SControl?

Hi,

I'm looking to implement a new page/view/integrated report and I'm not sure whether I should be going with an S-Control or Apex Code.  I have limited experience with S-Controls as they were before the winter release (have written some to display data from different recordsets and update this).

In theory, I could create this page as a back-end report (have some replication in place and user SQL reporting services), but I don't want to burden my server with replicating the different objects at a very high frequency. This is why I'd like to create this solution inside Salesforce.

The scenario: need to display selected data for a custom object related to a case. Basically, I have case, account, check requests (related to case) and complaints (related to case). For a given check request, I will want to show some case info, some account info, the complaints for the parent case, and a list of the attachments for the parent case.

I think I can do this with an s-control - a bunch of queries and displays. However, I think the s-control will be a little slow. My other s-controls got slow if I was pulling 3 or 4 different queries. Also not sure if I'll run into any problems with joins.

Not having done any APEX coding, I'm not sure if it's intended for a problem like this. Can it do the same thing as the s-control would, but faster?

I'll appreciate any guidance you can give.

Thanks
Rozanne
Doug ChasmanDoug Chasman
Rozanne,