function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
HarryKHarryK 

Help with mass email and templates

I am relatively new to s-controls.  I need to send an email to a number of records of a custom object using one of several templates (that contain merge fields from the custom object). The template will be determined by certain fields returned (via query or retrieve) on each record along with the email address. Can someone please point me to documents or better yet examples how that is accomplished?

Thanks in advance,
Harry
ApprivoApprivo
Henry

Mass email cannot be used for custom objects, so your choices are to send email from each record individually or programmatically identify the records you want to send the email to and send the email via an scontrol.

I will leave it to you to write the code to identify the records and template(s) you want to use. If you are not sure on how to do this, there are lots of examples on the boards on writing scontrols.

Once you have the information you need I think you will find the following scontrol helpful. It shows how to construct a send email URL with that information. Your code coud iterate through each record that you have identified and fire this scontrol for each record.

Here is an example of a scontrol to send an email. This one happens to be doing it from a rebate custom object so you will have to replace those references with your merge fields

<script language="javascript">

var url="/email/author/emailauthor.jsp?retURL=/{!SFDC_Rebate_ID}&template_id=00X60000000vIs0&new_template=1&p2_lkid=00Q300000095NW7&p3_lkid={!SFDC_Rebate_ID}&p24=email1@domain.com; email2@domain.com;email3@domain.com;email4@domain.com;email5@domain.com&p4=ccemail@domain.com&p5=bccemail@domain.com&save=1";

parent.location.href=url;

</script>

Notes:

Template ID: Replace with your template ID