function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
debiken88debiken88 

Quick question on JSON deserialize

Hi all,
      This is my first attempt at using JSON in APEX, seems pretty straight forward.  I have what I think is a very simple question...making a call out to a webservice that is returning a JSON string for new order information.   In my apex class, I have a simple order class:
public class OrderInfo{
     public String CustomerName {get; set;}
     public String CustomerNo {get; set;}
     public String OrderStatus {get; set;}
     public String CustomerPONo{get; set;}
     public String Name {get; set;}
     public String GrossAmount {get; set;}
     public String WantedDeliveryDate {get; set;}

}

I make a call out to my webservice and get back my JSON string...all is well.  Now I need to deserialize it which I'm doing like this:
HTTPResponse res = h.send(req);  //response comes back correctly, data is all formatted as I would expect..
       //deserialize the JSON data returned by the web service into the OrderInfo class defined above
        OrderInfo newOrder = new OrderInfo();
        newOrder = (OrderInfo)JSON.deserialize(res.getBody(), OrderInfo.class);
So here is my problem, when I look at the values of my newOrder object they are all null.  Based on examples I viewed, It looked like the deserialize method with a specified object type would update the values in the object.  Do I need to do something else to save the values into the newOrder object?  
    I really appreciate any assistance, I'm sure it's something very simple!  Thanks in advance!!

Best Answer chosen by debiken88
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
It does not update an object; it returns a new object of the particular class (e.g. OrderInfo). You could just as well write the following:

<pre>