function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jd_06jd_06 

migration tool

Hi All - I am new to the SFDC Migration Tool and am having issues with circular dependencies when performing a validation.  The issue is with a VF Controller and a VF page.  These are not new files,  I am making updates to both.  In the controller I have deprecated some getter methods and have added new ones.  I have updated the page accordingly, removing references to the old and adding references to the new.

I have included both of these files (controller & page) in my package.xml.  When validating I get an error telling me that the page is looking for one of the deprecated methods eventhough the updated page that I am deploying does not reference that method (I have checked...and double checked).

Obviously if I try just deploying the new page I get an error telling me that the updated VF page references methods that are not in the controller.

I believe that I can come up with an ugly multistep workaround, but wondering if others have a more elegant way of handling this scenario?

Thank you for any information that you could provide.

Jason
kcpluspluskcplusplus
I use the migration tool pretty much exclusively for interacting with code and metadata, and I think I know what you have happening, it happens to me occassionally with properties as well that I've surfaced on the page. Are you using the tool to work in a sandbox and deploy files as you edit them externally, or are you encountering this when using the tool to deploy to production?

--KC
jd_06jd_06