function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
developernewbiedevelopernewbie 

Copy value from one object to another object based on criteria

Hello,

I am new to developing code in Apex, so mind my errors. To give you a background of what the current scenario looks like

There is a Master Object  say  Object Master.

Object A and Object B each have a Master -Detail relationship with with Object Master

Object A:
Fields-
-Date
-Amount A

Object B:
Fields-
-Date
-Amount B

What I am trying to achieve in my code is that ;

if date of object A matches date of object B then i would like the value of Amount A equal to Amount B. I am trying to write this in a Class and having trouble getting to this.

The reason there are two objects - Object B is actualzied with a Data Load at end of every month with actual numbers. This then I would like to flow in to Object A so as to show reveue in that object.

Thanks in advance for helping!
Ashish_SFDCAshish_SFDC
Hi,

There is a similar situation and code available in the link below, 

http://salesforce.stackexchange.com/questions/23055/trigger-to-update-custom-field-from-another-custom-field-on-a-separate-object

Regards,
Ashish

Thanks Ashish for sharing the thread. Using that as a guidance I tried to write the trigger for my situation but am getting an error in the line with the bold. 

One thing i forgot to mention is that in the below code you will see Custom_Solution__c field. this is on both objects A and B and had master detail relationship with the master object. 

As you can see I am a new and still trying to understand Apex coding. Could you help me with this?

trigger UpdateActualDelivery on ObjectB__c (after insert, after update) {

Set<String> customSolutions = new Set<String>();

for(ObjectB__c objB:trigger.new) {

customSolutions.add(ObjB.Custom_Solution__c);
}