function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
admin1.3957598082281821E12admin1.3957598082281821E12 

Problem with URL function passing parameter to a lookup field

Hi guys,
I'm a newbie force.com developer: I'm triyng to implement a VF page using URL function passing parameter based on the selected record from a list in the previous VF page, but I have a problem with the autopopulating of a lookup field: can anyone help me, please?

This is the code for my VF page: 

<apex:page controller="Sebi_ControllerSelezionaMacchina">

<apex:outputLabel value="{!exec_message}" id="msg"/>
<apex:pageBlock >

<apex:PageBlockTable value="{!ListaCar}" var="c" columns="3">
   <apex:column value="{!c.Name}"/>
   <apex:column value="{!c.AvailabilityLights__c}"/>
   <apex:column value="{!c.RatingCar__c}"/>
   <apex:column >
       <apex:form >

<apex:commandButton value="Select" action="{!URLFOR($Action.Journey__c.New,null
,['Car_Select' = '{!$c.Id}' ])}" />

<!-- 'lookupRecordId'= '{!currName.Id}'  ['lookupFieldId'=value]  ['Car_Select__c' = '{!c.Id}' ] -->

</apex:form>
   </apex:column>   
</apex:PageBlockTable>
</apex:pageBlock>

</apex:page>

Best Answer chosen by admin1.3957598082281821E12
Ankit GuptaAnkit Gupta
Hi,

So, do u mean to auto-populate the lookup of the new record that you would be creating??
Then you will have to use URL Hacking technique. You can right click on the lookup and inspect element and then search for the value present in
the name="" in the developer tool in your browser.
I am able to prepopulate the lookup in my new record .Here are a few snapshots that might help you.

First VF Page :
First VF Page
The edit records Page : 
Edit Record Page

<apex:commandButton value="Select" action="{!URLFOR($Action.Rule__c.New,null,[CF00Nf0000000hxZG = c.Contact__r.Name])}"/>