function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Amanda ReamAmanda Ream 

Trigger a Chatter Post when an Opportunity is won

Hello Everyone,
I am an APEX newbie trying to create a trigger that posts when an Opp is won. I have no other requirements besides that the when an Opportunity is updated to the won stage, it posts a pedesigned message to a specific Chatter Group. I took the code from another post (https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/ForumsMain?id=906F00000009AFJIA2) and tried to modify it to do just that but I am running into a problem in the IDE at the "for" line, with the error stating "Save error: Loop must iterate over collection type: Boolen". I tried to add an else statement to break and exit the loop but that gave me a bracket error. Am I totally off base here? Should I pulling a list first for the function to iterate over? Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

trigger ChatterPostWonOpp on Opportunity (after update) {

String status;
String OppAccName;
String OppOwnerName;

FeedItem post = new FeedItem();

for(Opportunity o : Trigger.isupdate) {
                if(o.IsWon == true ) //This will be executed on new record insertion when Opp is won
                    for (Opportunity oppty : [SELECT Account.Name, Owner.Name FROM Opportunity])
                     {
                        OppAccName = oppty.Account.Name;
                        OppOwnerName = oppty.Owner.Name;
                      }  

status = OppOwnerName + ' just won ' + OppAccName + ' for ' + o.Amount + '!';

post.ParentId = '0F9g00000008b7c';
                    post.Title = o.Name;
                    post.Body = status;

insert post;
          }
    }
Best Answer chosen by Amanda Ream
CheyneCheyne