function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dion GunnDion Gunn 

{!URLFOR($Action.Attachment.Download, Id)} links for Attachments generate "Insufficient Privileges"

Hi all,

I've spent the majority of my day trying to find a solution for this issue and I'm having no luck. I'm still a bit of a beginner so bare with me.

I have a VisualForce page on a Communities site that is designed to list the standard Attachment object records from the community $Users related contact. This page is intended to list the Description of the attachment as well as a link to download it. I have a supporting controller that runs a Select query to retrieve the contacts attachments.

Here is a snippet from the page:
<apex:repeat var="doc" value="{!candidate.Attachments}">
                        <li>
                            <h4><apex:outputText value="{!doc.Description}"/></h4>
                            <div class="doc-h">
                            <apex:outputLink value="{!URLFOR($Action.Attachment.Download, doc.Id)}" target="_blank">
                                &nbsp;
                            </apex:outputLink>
                            </div>
                        </li>
                </apex:repeat>

This renders exactly how I would like it to render, and correctly displays the description and the link. However, if I browse to one of many of the links generated by {!URLFOR($Action.Attachment.Download, doc.Id)}, I receive an "Insufficient Privileges" error. I've tried hardcoding the URL and ID and receive the same error.

It generates a link like this: {community site}/servlet/servlet.FileDownload?retURL=%2Fcandidates%2Fapex%2FSupportingDocuments&file=00PN0000000ZZUBMA4

I would have expected that this is profile related, but it doesn't seem to be the case. This is what I've attempted to do to resolve this issue so far: