function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Hugh RaineyHugh Rainey 

How do I develop a visualforce page in an active org

I'm a newb when it comes to developing on the SF platform.  I've got experience with web application development, but like I said, I'm new to this.  

So I'm trying to create a VF page that will renderas="pdf".  The information will come from the Account sObject that will have use the information from custom fields.  It'll be really easy to make accept for that I can't make an pages in an active org.

I start the dev console > New > Visual Force page

The console looks like its already to go, but I can't save as an alert box pops up with the following:

Deployment Failed
Can't alter metadata in an active org

Right now the only thing that is typed into the editor is:
<apex:page>
</apex:page>

So how do I go about developing a page?
Bradley DelauneBradley Delaune
Hi Hugh,

Development can't be done in an active Org.  You will have to "cut" a developer sandbox and develop it there.  Then you can create a "Change Set" and add the page and related components to the change set and send it to the production organization.

You will need to have 75% test coverage in order to push Apex code to production.

Create a sandbox: Setup > Data Management > Sandboxes > New Sandbox
You can login with your original login information plus the name of the sandbox.  For example, if my login was joey@example.com and my sandbox's name was "Dev" then I would login as joey@example.com.dev with my same password.  (Also, instead of login.salesforce.com, you use test.salesforce.com).

To create a Change Set, go to Setup > Deploy

Reach out if you need more direction!

Hugh RaineyHugh Rainey
Well thank you very much Bradley.