function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Adam MarksAdam Marks 

Trigger Error

Need some help with a Trigger Error. I am not a developer so my skills get stretched with things like this. Also, for whatever it's worth I did not write the Trigger but am in a position to support it. The user is getting the following error when they try and merge records: "AccountTrigger: execution of AfterDelete caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object: External entry point"."

See below Trigger syntax:
trigger AccountTrigger on Account (before insert, after insert, after update, after delete) {
    String PROSPECT_RT_ID = dao_Account.getInstance().getRecordTypeId('Prospect');
    User defaultOwner = dao_User.getInstance().getUserByName('Medical-Surgical IT Data');
    List<AccountTeamMember> atmInserts = new List<AccountTeamMember>();
    List<AccountShare> ashInserts = new List<AccountShare>();
    String LTC_REP = 'EC Long Term Care Rep';
    String HC_REP = 'EC Home Care DME Rep';     

Map<Id, Searchable_Account__c> saMap = new Map<Id, Searchable_Account__c>();    
    for (Searchable_Account__c sa : [Select Id, Account__c, Account_Name_ExtId__c from Searchable_Account__c where Account__c in :trigger.new]){
        saMap.put(sa.Account__c, sa);
    }
    for (Account a : Trigger.new)
    {
        if (a.RecordTypeId == PROSPECT_RT_ID)
        {
            if (trigger.isBefore)
            {
                a.OwnerId = defaultOwner.Id;
            } else if (!trigger.isDelete){              
                User originalOwner = dao_User.getInstance().getUser(a.CreatedById);
                AccountTeamMember atm = new AccountTeamMember();
                AccountShare ash = new AccountShare();
                atm.AccountId = a.Id;
                atm.UserId = originalOwner.Id;