function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Alex MyersAlex Myers 

Invalid Type error on trigger calling class & method

I'm trying to write a trigger that calls a method for a specific set of records. I'm pretty new to Apex, so sorry if this is a dumb question! I'm getting a Compile Error: Invalid Type: ReversalUtils (which is my class) at line 15 column 27. The class I'm trying to call (ReversalUtils) isn't editable to me.

trigger testrev on Opportunity (after update) {

String datestr = '01/01/2011';
Date datestr2 = date.ValueOf(datestr);

Map<Id, Opportunity> oppsmap = new Map<Id, Opportunity>();

//put them all in a list
   List<Opportunity> results = new List<Opportunity>();

for (Opportunity o: [SELECT Id, cv__Posted__c, CloseDate 
                       FROM Opportunity
                       WHERE Id in :oppsmap.keySet()AND cv__Posted__c = true]) {

cv.ReversalUtils rs = new ReversalUtils();
rs.reverseGiftsWithErrorReporting(o);

}}

Thank you!!
digamber.prasaddigamber.prasad
Hi Alex,

Is class ReversalUtils is part of some managed package?

Regards,
Digamber Prasad
Alex MyersAlex Myers
Yep - that's why I can't edit it.
Oh, in that case you have to use namespace before class name. Something like <namespaceName>__ReversalUtils();

Regards,
Digamber Prasad

Alex MyersAlex Myers
Hm- I'm still getting Error: Compile Error: Invalid type: cv__ReversalUtils at line 15 column 27 when I include the namespace (_ or __). Any other ideas?

And thank you!
(__) is fine. Do you have sys adming profile? If not could you please see if your profile has access to this class?

Regards,
Digamber Prasad
Alex MyersAlex Myers
Yes, I am a sys admin - I should have access to the class, unless it's restricted by the managed package? (Does that happen?)

Thanks!