function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Christopher_JChristopher_J 

Help returning AggregateResult in Batch Apex update.

I'm new to Apex and trying to understand how to accomplish a fairly simple task in Batch Apex.  I'm trying to sum a field from a group of records and write it to a field on every account.  My code looks is below.  The bolded part is throwing the error Compile Error: Illegal assignment from LIST<AggregateResult> to Decimal at line 15 column 9. I understand what the error is but I'm not sure how to return the result correctly in this context.  

Thanks for any help you can provide!

global class CalculateACPY implements Database.Batchable<sObject>
{
    global Database.QueryLocator start(Database.BatchableContext BC)
    {
        String query = 'Select Id, Name, Active_Contract_Amount__c from Account';
        return Database.getQueryLocator(query);
    }

global void execute(Database.BatchableContext BC, List<Account> scope)
    {
        for(Account a : scope)
        {
       a.Active_Contracts_Per_Year__c = [select sum(amount_per_year__c) from contract where EndDate < TODAY and id =:a.id];
        }
        update scope;
    }
    global void finish(Database.BatchableContext BC)
    {  
    }
}
Jim JamJim Jam
something like ...

AggregateResult[] agList = [SELECT SUM(amount_per_year__c) totalSum FROM contract where Enddate < TODAY and Id=:a.id];
Decimal totalSum = Decimal.valueOf (agList[0].get('totalSum'));
a.Active_Contracts_Per_Year__c = totalSum;

..as an aside, not advisable to have a SOQL within a for loop for bulk processing reasons. 
Thanks much.  So now I'm getting the following error?  Compile Error: Variable does not exist: Decimal at line 15 column 27

{
    {
    }

{
        {