function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kai CheungKai Cheung 

Trigger CreateContactRole on Opportunity

Hi Newbie here,

In my Opportunities Tab, I have a lookup field called "relationship manager".  It looks up Contact for the relationship manager.

My goal is to write a trigger that when create or update an Opportunity and input the Relationship manager fields, it automatically create a Contact Role for the same person.

This is what i have so far, I dont know how to extract Opp ID and Contact ID as I think I will need it.  Please help.

Trigger CreateContactRole on Opportunity (after insert, after update)
{
For (Opportunity N:Trigger.now)

Opportunitycontactrole A = New Opportunitycontactrole ();
A.oppid = n.oppid;
a.RMID = n.rmid;
a.Role = ‘Relationship Manager’;
a.Isprimary = ‘True’;
}
Kai CheungKai Cheung
Maybe a more refine attempt here,

{For (Opportunity N:Trigger.now)

A.OpportunityId = N.id;
A.ContactId = THE CONTACT OJBECT ID NUMBER SUCH THAT IT MAtches the field's NAme in Opportunity;
A.Role = ‘Relationship Manager’;
A.IsPrimary = ‘True’;

}
Sagarika RoutSagarika Rout
Hi

Your logic is correct but some condition we need to add on trigger logic , so that it will not execute if the entry criteria will not match.
   And another thing is always we need to make trigger as bulkify to overcome salesforce governer limits.

{
         //Declaring list to insert listof Opportunitycontactrole
		 list<Opportunitycontactrole> listOfOpportunitycontactrole = new list<Opportunitycontactrole>();
		 For (Opportunity N:Trigger.new)
         {
		    if(N.relationship_manager__c != null){ //give proper API name , if this is not the one.
			   A.OpportunityId = N.Id;
			   A.ContactId = N.relationship_manager__c
			   A.IsPrimary = 'True';
			   listOfOpportunitycontactrole.add(A);
			}

}
		//checking whether list is empty or not