function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Preet KaurPreet Kaur 

Picklist / Checkbox Validation Rule

Hi, I'm new to salesforce and would appreciate any help! I've not done very many validation rules either.

If the 'Break Penalty inc. VAT' checkbox is checked and the 'Break Penalty Paid' picklist value is "Yes" an amount must be entered in the 'Break Penalty' field. Allowing the record to save. The formula should also work when the checkbox is checked and an amount is entered in the 'Break Penalty' field, the rule should fire telling the user to state whether the penalty has been paid in the 'Break Penalty Paid' picklist field. ('Yes' or 'No')

The current formula I have is:

AND( ISPICKVAL( Break_Penalty_Paid__c , 'Yes') || Break_Penalty_inc_VAT__c = TRUE && ISBLANK( Break_Penalty__c ) )

I am trying to save the record but I'm getting an error message..below..
User-added image

Any Help is Appreciated!! Thanks
logontokartiklogontokartik
Hello Preet

Can you try the below. So I basically combined both the validations you were asking about, but if you want 2 seperate validation rules, you can take the OR part and split out into two.

IF(OR(AND(ISPICKVAL( Break_Penalty_Paid__c , 'Yes'), Break_Penalty_Inc_VAT__c, ISNULL( Break_Penalty__c )),(AND ( NOT(ISNULL(Break_Penalty__c)),Break_Penalty_Inc_VAT__c,TEXT(Break_Penalty_Paid__c)!= "YES"))),true,false)

If you want two validations

Validation 1 : 

IF(AND(ISPICKVAL( Break_Penalty_Paid__c , 'Yes'), Break_Penalty_inc_VAT__c, ISNULL( Break_Penalty__c )),true,false)

Validation 2 : 

IF((AND ( NOT(ISNULL(Break_Penalty__c)),Break_Penalty_inc_VAT__c,TEXT(Break_Penalty_Paid__c)!= "YES")),true,false)

Hope this helps

Preet KaurPreet Kaur
Hi logontokartik,