function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
RICARDO PALMARICARDO PALMA 

Error: Compile Error: Didn't understand relationship

Hello all,

I have a custom relation master/detail  (Qoutes__r) between Quote and QuoteLineItem.
I have a class where i need to get some data from Quote and QuoteLineItem but I'm getting this error:

Error: Compile Error: Didn't understand relationship 'Quotes__r' in FROM part of query call. If you are attempting to use a custom relationship, be sure to append the '__r' after the custom relationship name. Please reference your WSDL or the describe call for the appropriate names. at line 35 column 16

Here my code:

LstQuotes = [SELECT q.id,q.QuoteNumber, q.Ad_Name__c,q.Type__c, q.Size__c,  q.Version__c, q.Bleed_Code__c,
   (Select Quotes__r.Advertiser_Account__c From Quotes__r)
   From Quote q
   where City_Code__c = :theId and q.Media_Name__c =: strMediaID];

The error is on this line (Select Quotes__r.Advertiser_Account__c From Quotes__r)

Thanks.
Best Answer chosen by RICARDO PALMA
AshwaniAshwani
Write query as:

LstQuotes = [SELECT q.id,q.QuoteNumber, q.Ad_Name__c,q.Type__c, q.Size__c,  q.Version__c, q.Bleed_Code__c,
   (Select Advertiser_Account__c From Quotes__r)
   From Quote q
If it doesn't work check the referenced quote field name. As the error says you are using worng relationship name.

All Answers

AshwaniAshwani
Write query as:

LstQuotes = [SELECT q.id,q.QuoteNumber, q.Ad_Name__c,q.Type__c, q.Size__c,  q.Version__c, q.Bleed_Code__c,
   From Quote q
If it doesn't work check the referenced quote field name. As the error says you are using worng relationship name.

This was selected as the best answer
AshlekhAshlekh
Hi,

Use below code 
LstQuotes = [SELECT id,QuoteNumber, Ad_Name__c,Type__c, Size__c,  Version__c, Bleed_Code__c,Advertiser_Account__c ,(Select id From Quotes__r)