function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Cobb AndersonCobb Anderson 

Trigger keeps giving me an error 'Expression cannot be assigned'

Dear Salesforce developers,

I am new to APEX. I've been Salesforce support and consultant only within the scope of admin and configuration.
I am learning how to write trigger these days and I've been successful with most of it, but just this;

============================================================
trigger HW_CountContactQuant on Contact (after delete, after update, after insert) {
    List<Account> accList = new list<Account>();
    integer i = [SELECT Count() FROM Contact];

if(Trigger.isAfter){
     if(Trigger.isInsert || Trigger.isDelete || Trigger.isUpdate){
         for(Contact gh1 : Trigger.old || Trigger.new){
         Account.ContactQuantity__c = i;
         }
     }
 }

}
================================

I am trying to create a trigger whenever Contact is inserted, updated and deleted, it will count the number of records and update certain field in "Account". Like, rollup summary.
there seems to be no error in my syntax but I keep having "Expression cannot be assigned".

Someone please please help? T_T
Best Answer chosen by Cobb Anderson
Art SmorodinArt Smorodin
Hi Cobb, 

I myself if a beginned at APEX coding but I see some erorrs and will try to point them out for you.
As of right now you trigger is not updating any account because it does not point to any specific account in the system. 
Your line 8:
is looping inside Contact records, and trying to update an Account record. You have to use Update.

Line 3:

If you run it in the Developer Console you will see that it actually return ALL your contacts count. As far as I understand you want to update a specific Account record with the number of Contacts assigned to it. So you will heve to modify your query to reflect that.