function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sapana WSapana W 

How to enable chatter desktop for organization

Hi All,

I am not able to install chatter desktop on my machine. Being a system administrator I have 'API Enabled', 'Chatter Internal User' permission too. It shows me insufficient privileges error. 
Vijay NagarathinamVijay Nagarathinam
Hi,

Salesforce has decided that Chatter free users aren't allowed to download Chatter Desktop using the link in Chatter. (It's super annoying!) However, if you can get the user the actual install files then they can install it.

These instructions work for most people:

•Download Adobe Air and install it manually on your computer: http://get.adobe.com/air/
•Once Adobe Air is installed, download the Chatter Desktop setup file here: http://na1.salesforce.com/setup/chatterdesktop/desktop.air

If this doesn't work then you can have someone with a Salesforce user license start to install desktop and then give the install file to the free user. The have to have Adobe Air installed first though

Sapana WSapana W
Hi Vijay,

I already tried the steps you mentioned. I downloaded the file from said location and when I was trying to login ..it said "Insufficient Privileges..."
I am using developer edition which I have created recently. Could you suggest what could be the issue?

Phil WeinmeisterPhil Weinmeister
Hi SFDCDeveloper,

I would assume you've checked both of these, but just in case...here are two items to check:

1. What are your Chatter Desktop Settings? I know it seems obvious, but "Enable Chatter Desktop" needs to be enabled.

Chatter Desktop Settings

2. It requires administrator privileges on your machine; do you have that?

Thanks,
Phil
Mitchell FishMitchell Fish