function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Forrest MulduneForrest Muldune 

Apex Trigger Cross Object

All,

I am requesting for assistance with a cross object trigger that I have been struggling to create. This is my first attempt in creating a Cross object trigger and I would appreciate any assistance.

Below are the names of the objects and fields.

In the Judgment_Event__c I have the following fields below.

Action_Type__c                    (picklist)

Recording_Location__c          (picklist)

Expiration_Date__c                (date)

Recording_Date__c                 (date)

Recording_Office_State__c   (Picklist)

Below are fields I have in the Judgment_Exp_Matrix__c object.

Years__c       (Number)
State1__c      Lookup(State)

MY REQUEST BELOW

In my trigger within the Judgment_Event__c ,   when a user selects Action_Type__c  = = ‘Recording’
And  Recording_Location__c   = = ‘County’
And  Recording_Office_State__c ==’a state that user chose  from a picklist’ (example if someone selects California)

AND

In Judgment_Exp_Matrix__c when a user selects a number in the Years__c and a state within the State1__c (example: this has to be the same state in the Recording_Office_State__c in Judgment_Event__c  ). I would like the number in  Years__c to add with the date in Recording_Date__c in Judgment_Event__c , and the final calculation will be automatically populate in the Expiration_Date__c.  For example: if the date in the Recording_Date__c is 1/01/2012 and a user selects the number 2 in the Years__c field, 1/01/2014 will be automatically populated in the Expiration_Date__c .