function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jeff GJeff G 

Cross-Object Update Problems -- Probability field won't change

Hello,

I am trying to write an apex trigger that updates the Probability field of my Opportunity object whenever I change the probability field of a custom object 'QQ'. My Opportunity and QQ have a master-detail relationship.

I am new to apex triggers, though intuitively I would write something like this:

trigger TestUpdateProbability on Opportunity (before insert, before update) {
        for(Opportunity p : Trigger.new) {
                p.Probability = p.QQ__r.Total__c;
        }
}

This doesn't seem to be working.
I can't use a workflow either, because the Probability field in an Opportunity object is set according to the Stage field. 
I would like to change the Opportunity probability based on my custom QQ's probability, though that is difficult since each stage is associated with only one preset Probability percentage.

Does anyone know how to get around this? Thanks.
Best Answer chosen by Jeff G
Balaji Chowdary GarapatiBalaji Chowdary Garapati
@Jeff.,

Hello Jeff, 

Important things to consider before we start.,

-> Writing trigger on QQ object , while inserting ideally we wouldnt have any opportunities that were child to this QQ record so we doesnt need to handle any insert event
 -> We should query the opportunity records that were children to the QQ record that was being updated.
 -> Try the below link which explains the trigger context variables.
 https://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/apexcode/Content/apex_triggers_context_variables.htm

-> Trigger context variables will have the information of the records on which the trigger got fired.
 -> Ideally if the update is on cross object (any other objects record other than the trigger got fired), always go for the after trigger events