function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Alex Sherwood 1Alex Sherwood 1 

Update Task Priority

I'm completely new to Apex (or coding of any kind) and have been trying to figure out how to write a trigger to update the priority of certain tasks for the past couple of days but I don't think I've come close.

The problem that I have is that I can't find a basic enough example of a trigger, which only performs the one action and isn't referening another object, to use as a template.

Ideally I'd like the trigger to just update the task, without referencing accounts or opportunities etc. so that I can adapt it to update any field on any object.

The task will be triggered using the new process builder feature. The new priority should be high. If it is necessary to reference another object, then these tasks will be related to opportunities.

I have written the rest of the trigger but it's just fragments of code pulled from various sources and probably makes no sense. The part that I'm really struggling with is selecting the list of selected records from my SOQL query so that I can update them.

trigger TaskPriorityUpdate on Task (before update) {

for (Task myTasks : Trigger.new)  {

List<Task> tasksToUpdate = [SELECT Priority FROM Task WHERE RecordTypeId = '012700000005ofQ' AND Status != 'Completed' AND Activity_Type__c = 'Administration' AND Subject = 'Opportunity Close Date Check'];

if (tasksToUpdate.size() > 0) {

update tasksToUpdate.Priority__c = 'High';
             }
    }
}

I'd really appreciate any guidance!
Waqar Hussain SFWaqar Hussain SF
Hello Alex..
try the following code, it will solve your problem.
trigger TaskPriorityUpdate on Task (before update) {

List<Task> tasksToUpdate = new List<Task>();

for (Task myTasks : Trigger.new)  {